Published on May 22nd, 2017 | by admin


With only 13 days to go until the inaugural League of Legends: League of Origin begins, Riot Games Oceania has today revealed the final teams, ticket details and schedule for the first region vs region esports event to hit Oceania’s shores.

Taking place from 2pm AEST on the 3-4 June at ESL Studios in Auburn, NSW, top Oceanic Pro League (OPL) and Oceanic Challenger Series (OCS) pro players from New Zealand, Queensland, New South Wales and Victoria will battle across two days to be crowned the best League of Legends region. The first match on Saturday will see the biggest rivals, New South Wales and Queensland, go head-to-head.

With pride on the line, Shoutcasters and Region Selectors, Cameron ‘Crunch’ Russell (NZ),  Zack ‘Rusty’ Pye (QLD), Matthew ‘Fish’ Stewart (NSW), Jake ‘Spawn’ Tiberi (VIC), have confirmed their final line ups and they’re all ‘quietly’ confident their team can win it all.

“There’s always something to prove in the Australian/New Zealand rivalry, so when it comes to League of Origin you’re certainly going to see the strength of Kiwi patriotism in backing our team,” said Crunch.

“I’d call us the underdogs in this story,” says Rusty. “We had a limited player pool to choose from, names that may not compare in magnitude to some of our opponents. But we’re still Queensland.”

“The past decade has seen a lot of Maroon victories.” says Fish. “This time the Blues will be leading the pack, and we will take NZ and VIC as collateral damage along the way!”

“Mid lane is so stacked in Victoria,” Spawn acknowledges. “It’s kind of insane that the three I rate the highest in the OPL are all from my home state!”

Tickets for League of Origin will go on sale on Friday 26 May at 4pm AEST, with 150 seats available each day. Tickets are $15 per day and the ticket website will be released on on Friday.

The packed two day schedule, made possible by our sponsors at Red Bull, will also be streamed live on

Follow League of Origin at, or via #LoLOrigin.


Day 1 – 3 June, 2017

2pm – NSW vs QLD

3pm – VIC vs NZ

4pm – NSW vs NZ

5pm – VIC vs QLD

6pm – NZ vs QLD

7pm – NSW vs VIC

Day 2 – 4 June, 2017

2pm – Bo3 2nd vs 3rd

5pm – Bo5 1st vs winner of previous

About the Author'

Back to Top ↑