Published on May 31st, 2017 | by admin

CWL Global Pro League Stage 1 Playoffs Winners Announced

May 31, 2017 – This weekend, the culmination of weeks of thrilling Call of Duty World League competition concluded with Splyce, the lone European representative, capturing top honours for the first time on North American soil at the CWL Global Pro League Stage 1 Playoffs. Over three days, eight of the top teams from CWL Global Pro League Stage 1 battled to determine the winner in a double elimination tournament.

After all top seeds from each group fell to the Loser Bracket following Day One of competition, it was ultimately Splyce and Luminosity battling for the lion’s share of the Global Pro League Stage 1 $700,000 prize pool.

“Splyce came into the weekend as the sole representative of any teams outside of North America and they showed up in a massive way, striking early and refusing to slow down,” MLG Call of Duty play-by-play caster Chris Puckett said of the Grand Finals winner. “In the Grand Finals, it was a superstar show from all four Splyce pros – including team newcomer Trei ‘Zer0’ Morris, who captured MVP honours.”

Here are the final rankings for the CWL Stage 1 Playoffs:

  • 1st – Splyce
  • 2nd – Luminosity
  • 3rd – FaZe Clan
  • 4th – OpTic Gaming
  • 5th/6th – eUnited
  • 5th/6th – Enigma6
  • 7th/8th – Evil Geniuses
  • 7th/8th – Team EnVyUs

The top 12 teams from Stage 1 will qualify for CWL Global Pro League Stage 2, which begins June 30. Beginning June 15 and continuing through the CWL Anaheim Open (June 16 – 18), the last-place team from each group of Stage 1 will try to re-earn their spot in the CWL Global Pro League Stage 2 series via a Relegation Tournament against the top teams, based on CWL Pro Points for teams not already in the Global Pro League. One team each from APAC and Europe will join two North American teams to compete for the opportunity to play against the bottom Stage 1 teams. The top four teams from Relegation will be placed in CWL Global Pro League Stage 2. All Stage 2 teams also secure a spot in the 2017 CWL Championships, taking place in Orlando, FL., August 9 – 13.

For teams that are not participating in Stage 2, the Last Chance Qualifiers (LCQ) will give them the opportunity to compete for placement at the 2017 CWL Championships. Each region will have its own LCQ event, taking place as follows:


  • EU: Runs July 1-3 at the Gfinity Arena in London. The top 16 teams from Europe based on CWL Pro Points will battle it out, and the top six teams from the event will go to the CWL Championships. Roster lock deadline is June 26th. EU players can register here.
  • APAC: Runs July 7-9 in Melbourne, Australia. The top 16 teams from the Asia/Pacific region based on CWL Pro Points will compete, and the top two teams will head to the CWL Championships. Roster lock deadline is June 26th. APAC players can register here.
  • NA: Set for July 25 at the MLG Arena in Columbus, Ohio, where the top 16 North American teams based on CWL Pro Points will compete for a chance to be one of the eight teams sent to the CWL Championships from this qualifier. Roster lock deadline is July 10th. NA players can register here.

Be sure to check out and follow @CODWorldLeague on Twitter , Instagram and Twitch for the latest CWL updates.

Call of Duty World League Presented by PlayStation®4 is proud to partner with Major League Gaming Corp. as the North American tournament operator and broadcast partner for the upcoming season.  Through MLG’s proven live streaming capabilities and technology, will help to deliver the CWL Pro League across

About the Author'

Back to Top ↑
  • Quick Navigation

  • Advertisement

  • Latest Posts

  • First Look

  • Join us on Facebook