Published on March 28th, 2018 | by Admin

Announcing the 2018 Overwatch World Cup

Two years ago, we debuted the Overwatch World Cup, and 2017 saw it evolve and expand further. Now it’s time to announce the return of this global celebration of high-level play: the 2018 Overwatch World Cup, which begins today and culminates this November in Southern California.

From today through the end of Competitive Season 9 (29 April AEST/NZST), we’ll be tracking the average skill rating (SR) of each country’s top 150 players. Each country’s progress can be tracked on the Overwatch World Cup website. The top 20 countries at the end of this period will be invited to compete in the 2018 Overwatch World Cup.

This year, the four Group Stage host countries will be France, South Korea, Thailand and the United States. These countries will automatically qualify into the tournament, resulting in a total of 24 teams. If a host country makes the top 20 through average SR, the 21st-ranked country will take their spot—and so on.

With Australia bowing out in the top eight last year, we’re all hoping to see another strong performance from the Aussie contingent in 2018!

For more information on the new process for the formation of National Competition Committees, the program timeline and more, check out the announcement blog:

About the Author'

Back to Top ↑
  • Quick Navigation

  • Advertisement

  • Latest Posts

  • First Look

  • Join us on Facebook