Published on May 10th, 2017 | by admin

Overwatch World Cup 2017 Competition Committee Announced; Sydney to Host Group Stage Live Event!

Votes for the Overwatch World Cup Competition Committee have been tallied and the results are now live at On Friday, 28 April AEST/NZST, players were given an opportunity to vote for representatives to form their region’s Competition Committee, which is responsible for selecting and recommending the strongest team from that region. Australia will be represented by heykatie, Uber and Serenity, while New Zealand will be represented by AVRL, Smite, and Nesty. See attached for the full list of committee members for all 32 regions.

We’re also excited to announce the groups and city locations for the four live events the group stages will be played in this Winter (AEST/NZST), including group stage C and D which will take place in Sydney, Australia! Venue, dates, and ticket information will be announced separately. Each group is comprised of four nations who will play a full round-robin series of matches. From each group, the top two teams will advance to the single-elimination playoffs. The top two finishers from each of the four group stage events will qualify for the Overwatch World Cup finals at BlizzCon 2017.

Group Stages:

Shanghai, China – Group A and B

Sydney, Australia – Group C and D

Katowice, Poland – Group E and F

Burbank, California – Group G and H


Group A (Shanghai, China)

1 – China

16 – Hong Kong

17 – Norway

32 – Romania

Group B (Shanghai, China)

8 – France

9 – Denmark

24 – Thailand

25 – Argentina

Group C (Sydney, Australia)

4 – Sweden

13 – Australia

20 – Italy

29 – Portugal

Group D (Sydney, Australia)

5 – Finland

12 – Japan

21 – Spain

28 – Vietnam

Group E (Katowice, Poland)

2 – South Korea

15 – Netherlands

18 – Poland

21 – Austria

Group F (Katowice, Poland)

7 – Canada

10 – Russia

23 – Singapore

26 – Turkey

Group G (Burbank, California)

3 – United States

14 – Chinese Taipei

19 – Brazil

30 – New Zealand

Group H (Burbank, California)

6 – United Kingdom

11 – Germany

22 – Israel

27 – Belgium

About the Author'

Back to Top ↑