Published on May 17th, 2021 | by Adrian Gunning

New FFXIV Content revealed at 2021 Digital Fan Festival

SQUARE ENIX® unveiled new information on Patch 5.55 for FINAL FANTASY® XIV Online ahead of the release of Endwalker™, the highly anticipated fourth expansion pack for the award-winning MMO.

During Saturday’s Letter from the Producer LIVE stream, Producer and Director Naoki Yoshida outlined new content fans can expect from Patch 5.55 and beyond as FINAL FANTASY XIV: Shadowbringers comes to an end.

Patch 5.55 will launch on 25th May, bringing additions to the main scenario questline, YoRHa: Dark Apocalypse and Save the Queen questlines, as well as marking the start of official service for the PlayStation®5 version following an open beta period.

Yoshida also outlined the upcoming special event calendar, which includes the Make It Rain in-game event in July, the Moonfire Faire and The Rising in-game events in August, and a return of the FINAL FANTASY XV collaboration in September.

Further Patch 5.55 details outlined during the livestream can be found below:

  • Patch 5.5 Main Scenario, Part II – The second part of this final main scenario update before Endwalker sets the stage for the upcoming expansion in grand fashion.
  • YoRHa: Dark Apocalypse – Additional YoRHa: Dark Apocalypse story has been added to this epic crossover questline.
  • “Save the Queen” Questline Update – This latest update includes a new field area, “Zadnor,” an increased resistance rank cap of 25, final enhancement of resistance weapons, and new large-scale battle content Dalriada for up to 48 players.

In addition, SQUARE ENIX announced collaborations with guitar powerhouse Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (“Fender”) and CITIZEN to create premium, FINAL FANTASY XIV-themed goods for fans to enjoy, as well as the upcoming release of FINAL FANTASY XIV: Shadowbringers — The Art of Reflection -Histories Unwritten-, the second art book for the critically acclaimed expansion pack.

Debuted during the Letter from the Producer LIVE at FINAL FANTASY XIV Digital Fan Festival 2021, electric guitar manufacturer Fender has created a limited run of FINAL FANTASY XIV STRATOCASTER® guitars, featuring imitation crystal detailing, custom branding on the neck, and a custom, vintage-style hard shell case adorned with the FINAL FANTASY XIV logo. Fender will begin to take pre-orders for the FINAL FANTASY XIV STRATOCASTER® guitars in the Americas, EMEA and Australia in late 2021 and ship in early 2022.

Players can also look forward to the electric guitar’s addition in-game as the newest instrument for performance actions. The in-game model is inspired by the FINAL FANTASY XIV STRATOCASTER guitar and will feature the ability to switch between five different audio tones, including clean and distorted sounds. Additionally, players can also enjoy special performance features for the guitar including pick slide and mute effects. Furthermore, a new indoor furnishing—the Magitek Electric Guitar—designed after the FINAL FANTASY XIV version of the Stratocaster®, will be available to purchase in the Manderville Gold Saucer.

CITIZEN is also working in collaboration with SQUARE ENIX to create two FINAL FANTASY XIV-themed watches—named the LIGHT and DARKNESS models—inspired by a crystal of light and the Warriors of Darkness, respectively. Designed under the full supervision of the FINAL FANTASY XIV development team, both models have simple, classic designs suitable for any occasion and let owners feel connected to the FINAL FANTASY XIV universe as they go about their day. These new models will be available for pre-order on the SQUARE ENIX Store from today until Wednesday 30th June at 3:59pm BST in both LIGHT and DARKNESS varieties.

In addition, the company announced the upcoming release of FINAL FANTASY XIV: Shadowbringers — The Art of Reflection -Histories Unwritten-, the second art book for the MMO’s critically acclaimed expansion pack. Now available for pre-order from the Square Enix Store and book retailers, this deluxe, large-format volume showcases artwork from YoRHa: Dark Apocalypse and the Eden raid series, as well as concept art of characters, environments, and more. The art book will also include a bonus code to redeem an in-game “Wind-up Runar” minion.

The book is available for pre-order on the Square Enix Store, alongside a variety of new items debuted in celebration of Final Fantasy XIV Digital Fan Festival 2021, including character figures, a set of Ascian-themed wine glasses, jewellery, a series of job icon-patterned accessories, and more:

Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn — The Art of Eorzea -Another Dawn- will also be republished as a new, physical edition, scheduled for release on 8th February, 2022. The physical edition of this book will include a bonus code to redeem an in-game “Wind-up Enterprise” minion, and is available for pre-order:

Furthermore, six previously released artbooks have been confirmed for digital release by Square Enix Manga & Books imprints:

–          Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn — The Art of Eorzea – Another Dawn –

–          Final Fantasy XIV: Heavensward — The Art of Ishgard – Stone & Steel –

–          Final Fantasy XIV: Heavensward — The Art of Ishgard -Scars of War –

–          Final Fantasy XIV: Stormblood — Art of the Revolution – Western Memories –

–          Final Fantasy XIV: Stormblood — Art of the Revolution – Eastern Memories –

–          Final Fantasy XIV: Shadowbringers — The Art of Reflection – Histories Forsaken –

Players will now be able to enjoy the art of FINAL FANTASY XIV Online digitally, with e-book editions* becoming available for purchase from book retailers beginning 8th February, 2022.

*Digital editions of the art book will not include in-game item bonus codes.

The recently announced fourth expansion pack of the FINAL FANTASY XIV Online saga, Endwalker, is scheduled to release 23rd November, 2021 for PC, Mac, the PlayStation®5 system, and the PlayStation®4 system. Endwalker is the culmination of the Hydaelyn and Zodiark story, in which Warriors of Light will encounter an even greater calamity than ever before, and will bring an abundance of new content, including multiple new jobs, an increased level cap, vast new areas, adjustments to the battle system, as well as a variety of new battle, crafter and gatherer content.

FINAL FANTASY XIV: Endwalker’s full trailer can be found here:

Visit the official FINAL FANTASY XIV: Endwalker site here:

With over 22 million total registered players and a new expansion on the way, there has never been a better time for newcomers to begin their adventures in the critically acclaimed FINAL FANTASY XIV Online saga. The expanded Free Trial now includes all content from A Realm Reborn and the Heavensward™ expansion (and updates through Patch 3.56), as well as an additional playable race (Au Ra), and three additional playable jobs (Dark Knight, Astrologian, and Machinist). Free Trial players can enjoy hundreds of hours of award-winning gameplay and story experiences equivalent to two full FINAL FANTASY titles, without limit on playtime.

About the Author'

Adrian lives in Melbourne Australia and has a huge passion for gaming, technology and pop culture. He recently finished his a Bachelor of Journalism and is currently focusing on games journalism. When not writing and playing video games, Adrian can be found in Comics 'R' Us debating the pros of the DC Universe and cons of the Marvel Universe.

Back to Top ↑