Published on June 27th, 2024 | by Adrian Gunning

HELLO DARKNESS Begins, Terrifying & Bloody

BOOM! Studios today revealed a chilling first look at HELLO DARKNESS #1, the terrifying start to a brand new ongoing anthology series featuring what BOOM! Studios is known for–the best in modern Horror, Fantasy, and Mystery, not to mention the darkest stories yet from a murderer’s row of world class creators including R.L. Stine, Francesco Francavilla, Garth Ennis, Becky Cloonan, James Tynion IV, Werther Dell’Edera, John Arcudi, Ryan Sook, Cullen Bunn, Sas Milledge, Sarah Gailey, Liana Kangas, Marguerite Bennett, Michael Conrad, Martín Morazzo, Andy Lanning, Trevor Hairsine, Steve Orlando, A.L. Kaplan, Genevieve Valentine, Jude Ellison S. Doyle, Letizia Cadonici, Sarah Andersen, and more! Everything from primal fears to modern political horrors will be explored, in the classic style of Creepy and Eerie and the contemporary chills of Black Mirror.

In addition, a deadly new Something is Killing the Children story unfolds in the first 6 issues, along with a bone-rattling new serialized tale called The War by Garth Ennis and Becky Cloonan for the first 7 issues!

HELLO DARKNESS #1 features a main cover by Paolo Rivera, and variant covers by Jenny Frison, Peach Momoko, Jeff Dekal, and a Blank Sketch Cover.

Packed into HELLO DARKNESS #1 is THE WAR #1 written by Garth Ennis, illustrated by Becky Cloonan, colors by Tamra Bonvillain, letters by Pat Brosseau; SOMETHING IS KILLING THE CHILDREN: A MONSTER HUNTER WALKS INTO A BAR #1 written by James Tynion IV, illustrated by Werther Dell’Edera, colors by Miquel Muerto, letters by AndWorld Design; THE FOSTER written by Steve Orlando, illustrated by A.L. Kaplan, colors by Marissa Louise, letters by Jodie Troutman; THE SIREN by Sarah Andersen; I CAN’T TAKE YOU ANYWHERE #1 by Robert Hack; CONTAGIOUS written by Jude Ellison S. Doyle, illustrated by Letizia Cadonici, colors by Alessandro Santoro, letters by Becca Carey; and STAY IN YOUR LANE written by Dave Cook, illustrated by David Cousens, colors by Angel De Santiago, letters by Nathan Kempf.

HELLO DARKNESS #1 will be available in comic shops July 24, 2024. It is available for pre-order at your local comic shop. Digital copies can be purchased from content providers, including Kindle, iBooks, and Google Play.

About the Author'

Adrian lives in Melbourne Australia and has a huge passion for gaming, technology and pop culture. He recently finished his a Bachelor of Journalism and is currently focusing on games journalism. When not writing and playing video games, Adrian can be found in Comics 'R' Us debating the pros of the DC Universe and cons of the Marvel Universe.

Back to Top ↑
  • Quick Navigation

  • Advertisement

  • Latest Posts

  • First Look

  • Join us on Facebook