Published on January 10th, 2023 | by Adrian Gunning


EA SPORTS™ has released the official list of nominees for the coveted Team of the Year (TOTY). The shortlist includes the best players from across the globe, with fans having their say on who deserves a spot in the prestigious TOTY XI. 

The shortlist includes a variety of players across football, including familiar names like Ballon D’or winners Luka Modrić, Karim Benzema and Lionel Messi, while also featuring young stars such as Jude Bellingham, Bukayo Saka and Aurelien Tchouameni. Players who also emerged as stars for their country in the 2022 World Cup have found their way onto the list, including standout Moroccan goalkeeper Yassine Bounou and CDM Sofyan Amrabat. 

Fans can see more information on TOTY here – 

Voting begins, January 10th at 11am EST / 4pm GMT / 5pm CET and closes Tuesday, January 17th at 3am EST / 7:59am GMT / 8:59am CET, so take the time to evaluate who you believe is worthy of making the final TOTY roster, which will be unveiled on Thursday, January 19th.  

FIFA 23 is developed by EA Vancouver and EA Romania and is available worldwide on PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S, PC, PS4, and Xbox One. Follow @EASPORTSFIFA on Twitter, Instagram and YouTube to keep up with our latest news, announcements, and to let us know what you think.   

Team of the Year will also come to FIFA Mobile beginning February 2nd. To learn more about the latest news for FIFA Mobile, or to download on iOS and Android, please visit: 

To learn more about the latest news for FIFA 23, please visit    

Full List of TOTY Nominees:

    • Thibaut Courtois
    • Gregor Kobel
    • Mike Maignan
    • Alisson
    • Ederson
    • Wojciech Szczęsny
    • Kevin Trapp
    • Yassine Bounou
    • Hugo Lloris
    • EmilinoMartínez 
    • Marcos Acuña
    • Marquinhos
    • Cristiano Biraghi
    • João Cancelo
    • Jonathan Clauss
    • Thiago Silva
    • Alphonso Davies
    • JeremieFrimpong 
    • ÉderMilitão 
    • RúbenDias 
    • Grimaldo
    • AchrafHakimi 
    • Theo Hernández
    • Reece James
    • KalidouKoulibaly 
    • Nicolás Otamendi
    • GleisonBremer 
    • NiklasSüle 
    • FikayoTomori 
    • Kieran Trippier
    • Virgil van Dijk
    • JoškoGvardiol 
    • Jules Koundé
    • Cristian Romero
    • DayotUpamecano 
    • NicolòBarella 
    • Jude Bellingham
    • Steven Berghuis
    • Marcelo Brozović
    • Bernardo Silva
    • Kevin De Bruyne
    • Moussa Diaby
    • Nabil Fekir
    • Seko Fofana
    • Pedri
    • Vincenzo Grifo
    • Rodri
    • Daichi Kamada
    • Joshua Kimmich
    • Filip Kostić
    • Toni Kroos
    • Merino
    • SergejMilinković-Savić 
    • Luka Modrić
    • Martin Ødegaard
    • Parejo
    • Lorenzo Pellegrini
    • Declan Rice
    • BukayoSaka 
    • AurélienTchouaméni 
    • Sandro Tonali
    • Federico Valverde
    • Casemiro
    • SofyanAmrabat 
    • Bruno Fernandes
    • RitsuDoan 
    • Enzo Fernández
    • Ivan Perišić
    • Adrian Rabiot
    • Iago Aspas
    • Wissam Ben Yedder
    • Karim Benzema
    • Rafael Leão
    • Neymar Jr.
    • Vinicius Jr.
    • Ousmane Dembélé
    • João Félix
    • Gabriel Jesus
    • Phil Foden
    • Cody Gakpo
    • ErlingHaaland 
    • Borja Iglesias
    • Ciro Immobile
    • Harry Kane
    • Randal KoloMuani 
    • DejanKulusevski 
    • Robert Lewandowski
    • Sadio Mané
    • LautaroMartínez 
    • KylianMbappé 
    • Lionel Messi
    • Christopher Nkunku
    • Darwin Núñez
    • Victor Osimhen
    • Mohammed Salah
    • Heung Min Son
    • Martin Terrier
    • DušanVlahović 
    • Olivier Giroud
    • Antoine Griezmann

About the Author'

Adrian lives in Melbourne Australia and has a huge passion for gaming, technology and pop culture. He recently finished his a Bachelor of Journalism and is currently focusing on games journalism. When not writing and playing video games, Adrian can be found in Comics 'R' Us debating the pros of the DC Universe and cons of the Marvel Universe.

Back to Top ↑