News

Published on May 22nd, 2020 | by Adrian Gunning

AWARD WINNING CREATIVE TEAM ED BRUBAKER & SEAN PHILLIPS ARM FANS WITH DOUBLE THE GRAPHIC NOVEL HARDCOVERS—PULP & CRUEL SUMMER—OUT THIS SUMMER

The multiple Eisner Award winning creative powerhouse behind such hits as My Heroes Have Always Been Junkies and Bad Weekend—Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips—are back with twice the content in the forthcoming original graphic novel tale of ’30s era crime—Pulp—and the upcoming Criminal collected edition Cruel Summer. Both graphic novel hardcovers will be available from Image Comics this Summer, in July and August respectively.

A darkly mysterious meditation on a life of violence, Pulp is unlike anything the award-winning team of Brubaker and Phillips have ever done. A celebration of pulp fiction, set in a world on the brink. It follows Max Winters, a pulp writer in 1930s New York, who finds himself drawn into a story not unlike the tales he churns out at 5 cents a word—tales of a wild west outlaw dispensing justice with a six-gun. But will Max be able to do the same, when pursued by bank robbers, Nazi spies, and enemies from his past? Find out in this must-have thriller from one of comics’ most acclaimed creative teams, perfect for fans of The Fade Out and Criminal.

Similar to the recent hit collected hardcover edition, Bad Weekend, the upcoming Cruel Summer hardcover will collect a complete story installment from the ongoing Criminal series and incorporate bonus behind-the-scenes content. Set in the summer of ’88, Cruel Summer follows Teeg Lawless, a man who comes home to plan the biggest heist of his career. But Teeg’s son Ricky and his friends are starting down the same dark path their fathers are on, and this is about to become the worst summer of their lives.

Pulp hardcover edition (ISBN: 978-1-5343-1644-7) will be available on Wednesday, July 29 and in bookstores on Tuesday, August 4. It can be pre-ordered at your local comic book shop or independent bookstore, or on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Books-a-Million, IndieBound, and Indigo.

Cruel Summer hardcover edition (ISBN: 978-1-5343-1643-0) will be available on Wednesday, August 12 and in bookstores on Tuesday, August 18. It can be pre-ordered at your local comic book shop or independent bookstore, or on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Books-a-Million, IndieBound, and Indigo.

Pulp and Cruel Summer will also be available for purchase across many digital platforms, including the official Image Comics iOS app, Amazon Kindle, Apple Books, comiXology, and Google Play.


About the Author

agun@impulsegamer.com'

Adrian lives in Melbourne Australia and has a huge passion for gaming, technology and pop culture. He recently finished his a Bachelor of Journalism and is currently focusing on games journalism. When not writing and playing video games, Adrian can be found in Comics 'R' Us debating the pros of the DC Universe and cons of the Marvel Universe.



Back to Top ↑